Diana Krall Dips Into Final Tommy LiPuma Sessions for a New Album


For some musicians, being in quarantine has offered a chance to take time to revisit some worthy classes which may in any other case have gotten delay or neglected. That appears to be the case with Diana Krall, who has introduced a new album, “This Dream of You,” culled from scores of studio recordings she did together with her celebrated longtime producer, Tommy LiPuma, earlier than his demise in 2017.

The album comes out Sept. 25, and was heralded Friday with the discharge of a preview monitor, “How Deep Is the Ocean,” written by Irving Berlin. Different songs on the gathering vary from Lerner & Loewe’s “Virtually Like Being in Love” to the Bob Dylan-written title monitor, a extra obscure selection from his 2009 album “Collectively By Life.”

“This Dream of You” is being described as having been “produced in Might 2020 by Ms. Krall.” However the classes all date again to the work she was doing with LiPuma for the “Flip Up the Quiet” album that was launched in 2017, her most up-to-date solo album (not counting a collaboration with Tony Bennett for 2018’s “Love Is Right here to Keep”). Her extra hardcore followers had been enthused sufficient concerning the minimalist however traditional sound of that launch that something that loosely counts as a sequel is prone to be greeted with particularly open arms.

Past emphasizing that the brand new assortment is “a lengthy enjoying file,” indicating that she hopes it will likely be consumed in old style full, Krall is describing the temper and working order of the album as having a cinematic-like arc, talking of its bookends and saying, “If ‘However Lovely’ is the overture, then ‘Singing In The Rain’ is the top title.”

She may need revisited this materials even with out the quarantine to focus her consideration. After I talked together with her in 2017 about “Flip Up the Quiet,” she indicated that there could possibly be “in all probability two extra” albums’ value of fabric within the can, in varied states of completion, from the voluminous classes. “That is Half 1, I assume,” she mentioned on the time. “Altogether we recorded perhaps 40 songs collectively, and Tommy’s job was to chop it all the way down to 11.”

The “Flip Up the Quiet” album marked a return to a extra stripped-down, traditional jazz combo sound, with solely occasional thrives of orchestration, and “This Dream of You” appears to proceed in that vein. Krall recorded with three completely different small ensembles for that predecessor, and all three flip up once more right here, with some further mixtures. Her longtime backing trio of John Clayton, Jeff Hamilton and Anthony Wilson seems on two tracks, “Virtually Like Being In Love” and “That’s All.” Krall performs with a fair smaller combo — forming a trio with famed gamers Christian McBride and Russell Malone — on two extra tracks, “Autumn in New York” and “There’s No You.” A extra eclectic, Americana-affiliated lineup seems as she expands “Simply You, Simply Me,” “How Deep Is the Ocean” and the title music into quintet format: guitarist Marc Ribot, fiddler Stuart Duncan, bassist Tony Garnier and drummer Karriem Riggins.

There are some tracks that enterprise outdoors the band format, as nicely. She is accompanied on “I Wished On The Moon” solely by her bass participant, Clayton. On two different tracks, “Extra Than You Know” and “Don’t Smoke In Mattress,” she turns in strictly vocal performances, and arms over the solo piano duties to Alan Broadbent, who’s normally her orchestrator. Broadbent just isn’t solely right here for his auxiliary pianist abilities, although; he does pull strings responsibility on the opening quantity, “However Lovely,” in addition to “Autumn in New York.”

The monitor checklist:

  1. However Lovely
  2. That’s All
  3. Autumn In New York
  4. Virtually Like Being In Love
  5. Extra Than You Know
  6. Simply You, Simply Me
  7. There’s No You
  8. Don’t Smoke In Mattress
  9. This Dream Of You
  10. I Wished On The Moon
  11. How Deep Is The Ocean
  12. Singing In The Rain


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here