Portugal and Haiti qualified for the first time in their history for the Women’s World Cup: how were the groups

Portugal got a ticket for the Women's World Cup after beating Cameroon in one of the playoffs (REUTERS/David Rowland)
Portugal got a ticket for the Women’s World Cup after beating Cameroon in one of the playoffs (REUTERS/David Rowland)

Two teams have secured their place in the FIFA Women’s World Cup which will take place in Australia y New Zealand halfway through the year, both are going to participate for the first time in their history in this raffle. Is about Portugal y Haitiwho have managed to qualify for the final phase of the World Cup after defeating this Wednesday Cameroon y Chilerespectively.

Portugal was imposed by 2-1 the African team in a match played in the Waikato Stadium from Hamilton (New Zealand), where a penalty goal Carole Costa in the 94th minute he settled a lawsuit that the Cameroonian team had equalized shortly before through Ajara Nchout Njoya and certified the historic moment of the Portuguese team.

Diana Gomesat 22 minutes after a shot to the post of Kika Nazareth in a free kick, he had opened the scoring, but the pupils of Francesco Neto they could not finish off the victory and Cameroon forced a heart-stopping finish that opted for the European team thanks to a handball shot from Andreia Jacinto that the defender who is currently active in the Benfica.

The Corner Selection Now you must prepare for what will be a demanding debut in this competition: going to share the Group E next to USAreigning world champion, Vietnam y Netherlandscurrent runner-up.

Ruthny Mathurin, player of the Haitian national team, celebrates the victory over Chile that gave her country the ticket to the World Cup (AP)
Ruthny Mathurin, player of the Haitian national team, celebrates the victory over Chile that gave her country the ticket to the World Cup (AP)

For his part, Haiti leave it to Chile out of the world by beating him by 2-1 in a match played in the North Harbour Stadium of Auckland. The double converted by de Melchie Dumonay shattered the dream of Rojawho never gave up and who even closed the gap with the goal scored by Maria Jose Rojas

The Chilean team, which had made such good performances in the last edition of the FIFA Women’s World Cup, now you will not be able to repeat participation. The box led by the goalkeeper Christiane Endler and directed by Jose Letelier seemed to have the situation under control but lacked depth against an orderly rival who scored goals at key moments, and even had a penalty in which Ender He once again showed that he is one of the best goalkeepers in the world by stopping the shot from Nerilia Mondesir.

See also  Technological Innovations in Cybersecurity

The players’ attempts to Chile they were messy and his goal came too late, with no option to prevent Haiti made history and qualified for the first time for a World Cup final phase, in which they were matched in the Group D next to England, China y Denmark.

The last remaining quota is defined this Thursday with the game they are going to play Paraguay y Panama, two teams that have never participated in a women’s World Cup either. The red white defeated in the semifinal Chinese Taipei 4-2 on penalties (regular time ended 2-2), while the Panamanians defeated 2-0 Papua New Guinea. Whoever won will go directly to Group Fwhere France, Jamaica and Brazil are already.

The FIFA Women’s World Cup of Australia and New Zealand will be played from July 20 to August 20 of this year in nine venues (five Australian and four New Zealand), being the first edition of this tournament that has the participation of 32 selections. Argentina led by German Portanova conforms the Group G next to Italy, Sweden y South Africa and the debut is dated July 24 versus the Azure.


• Group A: New Zealand, Norway, Philippines, Switzerland

• Group B: Australia, Republic of Ireland, Nigeria, Canada

• Group C: Spain, Costa Rica, Zambia, Japan

• Group D: England, Haiti, Denmark, China

• Group E: United States, Vietnam, Netherlands, Portugal

• Group F: France, Jamaica, Brazil, Paraguay/Panama

• Group G: Sweden, South Africa, Italy, Argentina

• Group H: Germany, Morocco, Colombia, Republic of Korea

See also  Puskas Award: the three finalists for the best goal of 2022

(With information from EFE)

Keep reading:

The story of Florencia Lattanzio, the Independiente goalkeeper who entered the Big Brother house
Linda Caicedo would be a Real Madrid player: the Colombian will travel to Europe in the coming days
The first white card in football history was released: in what situations is it used and what is its meaning