General News

Trump Adds Entertainment Legends to Garden of American Heroes Project

Walt Disney, Frank Capra, Whitney Houston, Billie Vacation, Johnny Money and Alex Trebek are among the many leisure business figures who’ve been added as proposed honorees within the Nationwide Garden of American Heroes monument venture unveiled by President Donald Trump in July.

As he started his last 48 hours as President, Trump issued an amended government order Monday that added dozens of names slated to be honored within the the deliberate statuary park. The situation for the park has but to be decided. Trump first introduced the plan on July 3 throughout his speech at Mt. Rushmore.

Among the many entertainment-related names making the reduce are Louis Armstrong, Lauren Bacall, Ingrid Bergman, Irving Berlin, Humphrey Bogart, Kobe Bryant, Frank Capra, Ray Charles, Nat King Cole, Miles Davis, Duke Ellington, Aretha Franklin, Woody Guthrie, Charlton Heston, Alfred Hitchcock, Bob Hope, Elvis Presley and Jimmy Stewart. The monument will honor these deemed to be “traditionally vital” which is outlined as “a person who made substantive contributions to America’s public life or in any other case had a substantive impact on America’s historical past.”

One controversial alternative amongst leisure names is Elia Kazan, the famed director whose legacy was clouded by his willingness to testify in opposition to his Hollywood colleagues in 1952 amid the anti-Communist witch hunt mounted in Congress by the Home Un-American Actions Committee.

Trump launched the Nationwide Garden initiative amid the social unrest of final summer time as outrage constructed over police shootings of unarmed Black males. A quantity of statues and monuments to figures from the Confederacy and people with racist legacies had been vandalized or destroyed, which led to a backlash and added to the sense of cultural polarization that has outlined Trump’s time in workplace.

“These statues should not ours alone, to be discarded on the whim of these infected by trendy political passions; they belong to generations which have come earlier than us and to generations but unborn,” Trump mentioned in his July 3 government order. “My Administration is not going to abide an assault on our collective nationwide reminiscence. Within the face of such acts of destruction, it’s our duty as People to stand sturdy in opposition to this violence, and to peacefully transmit our nice nationwide story to future generations by way of newly commissioned monuments to American heroes.”

The preliminary announcement featured a shorter record of historic figures as honorees, together with George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton in addition to Martin Luther King Jr., Jackie Robinson and Amelia Earhart.

Here’s a full record of honorees:

Ansel Adams

John Adams

Samuel Adams

Muhammad Ali

Luis Walter Alvarez

Susan B. Anthony

Hannah Arendt

Louis Armstrong

Neil Armstrong

Crispus Attucks

John James Audubon

Lauren Bacall

Clara Barton

Todd Beamer

Alexander Graham Bell

Roy Benavidez

Ingrid Bergman

Irving Berlin

Humphrey Bogart

Daniel Boone

Norman Borlaug

William Bradford

Herb Brooks

Kobe Bryant

William F. Buckley, Jr.

Sitting Bull

Frank Capra

Andrew Carnegie

Charles Carroll

John Carroll

George Washington Carver

Johnny Money

Joshua Chamberlain

Whittaker Chambers

Johnny “Appleseed” Chapman

Ray Charles

Julia Youngster

Gordon Chung-Hoon

William Clark

Henry Clay

Samuel Clemens (Mark Twain)

Roberto Clemente

Grover Cleveland

Crimson Cloud

William F. “Buffalo Invoice” Cody

Nat King Cole

Samuel Colt

Christopher Columbus

Calvin Coolidge

James Fenimore Cooper

Davy Crockett

Benjamin O. Davis, Jr.

Miles Davis

Dorothy Day

Joseph H. De Castro

Emily Dickinson

Walt Disney

William “Wild Invoice” Donovan

Jimmy Doolittle

Desmond Doss

Frederick Douglass

Herbert Henry Dow

Katharine Drexel

Peter Drucker

Amelia Earhart

Thomas Edison

Jonathan Edwards

Albert Einstein

Dwight D. Eisenhower

Duke Ellington

Ralph Waldo Emerson

Medgar Evers

David Farragut

the Marquis de La Fayette

Mary Fields

Henry Ford

George Fox

Aretha Franklin

Benjamin Franklin

Milton Friedman

Robert Frost

Gabby Gabreski

Bernardo de Gálvez

Lou Gehrig

Theodor Seuss Geisel

Cass Gilbert

Ruth Bader Ginsburg

John Glenn

Barry Goldwater

Samuel Gompers

Alexander Goode

Carl Gorman

Billy Graham

Ulysses S. Grant

Nellie Grey

Nathanael Greene

Woody Guthrie

Nathan Hale

William Frederick “Bull” Halsey, Jr.

Alexander Hamilton

Ira Hayes

Hans Christian Heg

Ernest Hemingway

Patrick Henry

Charlton Heston

Alfred Hitchcock

Billie Vacation

Bob Hope

Johns Hopkins

Grace Hopper

Sam Houston

Whitney Houston

Julia Ward Howe

Edwin Hubble

Daniel Inouye

Andrew Jackson

Robert H. Jackson

Mary Jackson

John Jay

Thomas Jefferson

Steve Jobs

Katherine Johnson

Barbara Jordan

Chief Joseph

Elia Kazan

Helen Keller

John F. Kennedy

Francis Scott Key

Coretta Scott King

Martin Luther King, Jr.

Russell Kirk

Jeane Kirkpatrick

Henry Knox

Tadeusz Kościuszko

Harper Lee

Pierre Charles L’Enfant

Meriwether Lewis

Abraham Lincoln

Vince Lombardi

Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Clare Boothe Luce

Douglas MacArthur

Dolley Madison

James Madison

George Marshall

Thurgood Marshall

William Mayo

Christa McAuliffe

William McKinley

Louise McManus

Herman Melville

Thomas Merton

George P. Mitchell

Maria Mitchell

William “Billy” Mitchell

Samuel Morse

Lucretia Mott

John Muir

Audie Murphy

Edward Murrow

John Neumann

Annie Oakley

Jesse Owens

Rosa Parks

George S. Patton, Jr.

Charles Willson Peale

William Penn

Oliver Hazard Perry

John J. Pershing

Edgar Allan Poe

Clark Poling

John Russell Pope

Elvis Presley

Jeannette Rankin

Ronald Reagan

Walter Reed

William Rehnquist

Paul Revere

Henry Hobson Richardson

Hyman Rickover

Sally Experience

Matthew Ridgway

Jackie Robinson

Norman Rockwell

Caesar Rodney

Eleanor Roosevelt

Franklin D. Roosevelt

Theodore Roosevelt

Betsy Ross

Babe Ruth


Jonas Salk

John Singer Sargent

Antonin Scalia

Norman Schwarzkopf

Junípero Serra

Elizabeth Ann Seton

Robert Gould Shaw

Fulton Sheen

Alan Shepard

Frank Sinatra

Margaret Chase Smith

Bessie Smith

Elizabeth Cady Stanton

Jimmy Stewart

Harriet Beecher Stowe

Gilbert Stuart

Anne Sullivan

William Howard Taft

Maria Tallchief

Maxwell Taylor


Kateri Tekakwitha

Shirley Temple

Nikola Tesla

Jefferson Thomas

Henry David Thoreau

Jim Thorpe

Augustus Tolton

Alex Trebek

Harry S. Truman

Sojourner Fact

Harriet Tubman

Dorothy Vaughan

C. T. Vivian

John von Neumann

Thomas Ustick Walter

Sam Walton

Booker T. Washington

George Washington

John Washington

John Wayne

Ida B. Wells-Barnett

Phillis Wheatley

Walt Whitman

Laura Ingalls Wilder

Roger Williams

John Winthrop

Frank Lloyd Wright

Orville Wright

Wilbur Wright

Alvin C. York

Cy Younger

Lorenzo de Zavala

(Pictured: Whitney Houston)

About the author

Mr josh

Mr. Josh is an experienced freelance journalist. He has worked as a journalist for a few online print-based magazines for around 3 years. He brings together substantial news bulletins from the field of Technology and US. He joined the team for taking the website to the heights.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment